Anniversary Newspost 2012

Today marks the first year anniversary of Domina City. Fifty-two weeks ago, I decided to start publishing a story I had written for fun. I knew it wasn’t perfect, but that was always part of the point. I wanted to see what I could do as a real writer, with an actual audience.

Response has been small, but positive. Everyone has been patient with me while I work out how to use the software, which is also something I appreciate. I think I’ve grown a lot as a writer, so this exercise has already been a success.

I’ve got a few other projects in the works, but I’m not giving up on Domina quite yet. For one thing, I’ve got ninety-seven more chapters ready to be published, so I’m not going to just let those lie fallow on my hard drive. And of course, the story would make no sense if I just end it at scene 154, so I’m not going to stop there. We’re going to be here for a while longer.

That being said, I do have some important announcements. First, I’m going to be running a Kickstarter to have Domina published in hard copy. We’re still ironing out the details, but the current plan is to bundle 10-20 chapters together, along with a little bit of bonus material. Maps of the city, gun schematics, more detailed information on the cultures and the warlords, and short stories unconnected to the main plot.

That’s going to take a little while to set up, which is probably a good thing—we simply don’t have enough dedicated fans right now to successfully run a Kickstarter campaign. Keep an eye out in the next couple months. It will be a big announcement you can’t miss, I promise.

While that is going on, we do have a few other things in the works. There have been a few requests for a forum, so we’ll be looking into getting that set up, as well as finding a place to better display the culture logos I commissioned.

Other than that, all I can say is thank you to everyone who reads and enjoys Domina City. I hope you continue to do both.

Leave a Reply

